//
you're reading...
General

July Wrap-Up

July was a slow month for news items here, though it is a busy month for activities. In some ways there was too much bad news overpowering good news items to post – and my policy is to stay positive. I had to stretch a few times for articles, including doing my first product reviews – of Dominica Bay Rum and Palladium shoes – two things that have been some of my best purchases ever at very affordable prices.

In the sports world, we saw an explosive personality in Michael Irvin speak out for gay rights. In baseball, the sport of July and Summer, there were stories of baseball balls that could have been disasters turn into positive role models by a youth and a brother and friend, as well as a player give back his salary when he missed a season.

I have not written about it yet, but personally a large news item was the NFL finally figuring things out and getting back to business as it is the only major sport that I actually follow. Now I can get on my Fantasy Football draft research. One note here – I am pledging if I win to donate half of my winnings to a non-profit – something I would like to see all men in paid leagues for any sport do – it may even make the losers feel better knowing some of their money went to a charity and not just all to the winner. Maybe in the future I can organize a sponsored league that would require that of all participants and add in extra money from sponsors.

About K9vin

I have been a volunteer for the humane treatment of animals in the Milwaukee area for 10 years as well as our parks system including founding the friends group for off-leash dog parks and a volunteer for The Park People. I was born in and raised near Milwaukee and have pride in the city. I want to be one of the people always striving to make Milwaukee better, starting with getting other men involved in their community.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 190 other followers

Follow us at Google+

Follow us on Facebook

