//
you're reading...
Well-Applied, Well-Equipped, Well-Groomed

Supplement This

I had saved this for a slow time – and boy has July been slow, not only are there few special days in July there has been little that has piqued my interest as far as men’s wellness and manners in the news. You know my rule – I only report on the good stuff. Anyway, Men’s Journal recently did an article on the 3 supplements with proven science that we should all be taking. Their conclusion: Vitamin D, Omega-3s, and Multivitamins. You can read the article for more info on each.

One of the main things I took from it was to be careful with multivitamins as the more they try to pack in the less you get of each. I am a proponent of the natural supplements but they say to watch for those being added in and stick to the essentials. I am cool with that, I can get those other things in other ways.

You may also note that multivitamins contain Vitamin D yet it is listed separately – that is because can use far higher dose than a multivitamin can contain so we should take a dedicated Vitamin D supplement.

You can find supplements out there that do address more than one need such as a multivitamin with mroe than 600 IU of Vitamin D. The one you cannot combine with others well is the Omega 3s since it is best in a liquid form and vitamins are stored dry.

Because I don’t like swallowing pills, I have been using Emergen-C, a drink additive similar to how you use alka-seltzer. They havea Vitamin D & Calcium version that has 1,000 IU or 250% of the recommended daily amount of D and 50% of the daily Calcium does in addition to most of the essential vitamins such as C, B, Thiamin, Riboflavin, Niacin, Folic Acid and others.

One final note – since I promote food as wellness here – salmon has both Vitamin D and Omega 3s. You likely would not eat enough of it – at least 2 servings a week for Omega 3s and much more for Vitamin D – it can add  to or replace your daily need when you do eat it.

About K9vin

I have been a volunteer for the humane treatment of animals in the Milwaukee area for 10 years as well as our parks system including founding the friends group for off-leash dog parks and a volunteer for The Park People. I was born in and raised near Milwaukee and have pride in the city. I want to be one of the people always striving to make Milwaukee better, starting with getting other men involved in their community.

Discussion

One thought on “Supplement This

  1. I can tell you the right ones make a difference. Even living in WI, my vitamin D levels were good in my last check up – I take 2,000 units daily in a tiny pill – get them very inexpensive at Trader Joes

    Posted by ann | July 8, 2011, 8:53 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 190 other followers

Follow us at Google+

Follow us on Facebook

