//
you're reading...
General

100 Monkeys! er Posts

I wanted to pick some special subject for my 100th post here. Make some grand statement about what I have done so far, what it means, and what I still plan to do. The problem is I really haven’t done much. Reposting other stories with a few personal notes in it really does not amount to much. I have done nothing in the community yet. And the biggest thing is I have not touched the lives of other men yet. An example – on day one of Men’s Health week I posted about concern #7, suicide, and I got 12 new followers on Twitter. That is great isn’t it? Well, they were all females.

Here is the thing though. I am in no way downtrodden or discouraged from my path. I knew it would be slow going, I purposefully am not attempting a big project to put my stamp on it yet. I understand men react slowly to these types of things – that is the reason for Well-Met’s existence. I could bemoan the work of writing without the readership I wanted – as if someone will miss something important I might say – but the information is there and won’t go away. If men choose to look for it later it will be there for them. And my readership has grown. I know from my Facebook posts that most of those that follow the link are female friends, but then I also have 49 followers on Twitter now. In addition, from blog stats I have seen general web search results grow to have 10 or more visits daily to the page. From the search terms I can see that there is an interest in men’s issues and people are finding my stuff. And I have had one male friend tell me personally that he is affected by what I post.

So there is progress, and any progress is good.

But, wait a minute, you say? What is this 100 Monkeys business?

Ah yes. 100 Monkeys. No the title was not an attempt to draw people in. It has meaning. You see there is something called the Hundredth monkey effect. It means that a learned behavior can spread instantly to all beings once a critical number have learned the behavior.  The basis is a study on monkeys in which the hundredth monkey learning the behavior seemingly caused all monkeys of the community to just know it. OK, so the research in the end is essentially discredited, but I still believe in the phenomenon. I equate it to the mob mentality where if enough of a percentage of people in an area start doing something it sees that all join in. I believe that it can and does happen.

So my hope is that post 100 is the proverbial 100th Monkey and with it supernaturally, paranormally, miraculously, somehow, interest in being Well-Met will instantly spread among the men of my community.

Here’s to more men taking the leap.

About K9vin

I have been a volunteer for the humane treatment of animals in the Milwaukee area for 10 years as well as our parks system including founding the friends group for off-leash dog parks and a volunteer for The Park People. I was born in and raised near Milwaukee and have pride in the city. I want to be one of the people always striving to make Milwaukee better, starting with getting other men involved in their community.

Discussion

One thought on “100 Monkeys! er Posts

  1. I had never heard of this monkey’s thing. . . good to know. You know me, I’ll steal and quote from it!

    Posted by ann | June 17, 2011, 9:05 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 190 other followers

Follow us at Google+

Follow us on Facebook

